This course aims at helping students to acquire knowledge in the field of the constitution of the state such as:

a) Notion of the constitution (different kinds of constitutions);

b) Rwandan constitution: status, procedures for adoption, amendment, etc.;

c) Fundamental principles of constitutional law;
d) Concepts about the state;
e) Political regimes;
f) Branches of government and balance of powers (legislative, executive and judiciary power);
g) Political institutions;
h) Independent administrative authorities (Office of Ombudsman, the office of the Auditor-
e) General of State finances, Gender monitoring office)
j)National commissions (National commission for human rights; National Unity and reconciliation commission; National Commission for the fight against genocide; National electoral commission; Public service commission).